The Scholarship Programme for Diaspora Children (SPDC) was launched in the academic year 2006-2007 by the Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs (MOIA). The objective of the SPDC is to make higher education in India accessible to the children of Overseas Indians and promote India as a centre for higher studies.

Under the scheme, 100 PIO/NRI students are awarded scholarship of up to US$ 5,000 per annum. The SPDC is applicable to undergraduate studies in Professional and Non-Professional courses (except medical and related courses). Assistance provided under SPDC comprises financial assistance, primarily towards tuition fee, admission fee and post admission services.

The scheme in being implemented through EdCIL (India) Ltd. It is open to NRIs/PIOs from over 40 countries (see list at right) having substantial Indian Diaspora population. Presently, 305 NRIs/ PIOs are studying in India under SPDC. 


The admissible amount of scholarship is remitted by EdCIL (India) Ltd directly to the concerned institute / university along with the balance fee deposited by the student or by the parent / guardian of the student.


In case of NRI candidates, the total monthly income of the family of the candidate should not exceed an amount equivalent to USD 2,250. The candidate is required to furnish a certificate stating so in approved format.


The courses of study under SPDC are available in the following areas:

• Engineering / Architecture / Technology.
• Humanities / Liberal Arts.
• Commerce.
• Management — BBA / BBM.
• Computers — BCA.
• Journalism.
• Hotel Management.
• Agriculture / Animal Husbandry.
• Sciences.
• Law.
• Ayurveda. 

All selected PIO students are required to obtain student visas issued by the Indian missions and consulates overseas. Such visas may be obtained by producing the provisional admission offer letter received from EdCIL (India) Ltd or from the institution of proposed study directly. 

S. No. Name of Country 

1. Australia 
2. Bahrain 
3. Canada 
4. Fiji 
5. France 
6. Germany 
7. Guyana 
8. Hong Kong 
9. Indonesia 
10. Israel 
11. Italy 
12. Jamaica 
13. Kenya 
14. Kuwait 
15. Madagascar 
16. Malaysia 
17. Mauritius 
18. Mozambique 
19. Myanmar 
20. Netherlands 
21. New Zealand 
22. Nigeria 
23. Oman 
24. Philippines 
25. Portugal 
26. Qatar 
27. Reunion Island 
28. Saudi Arabia 
29. Singapore 
30. South Africa 
31. Spain 
32. Sri Lanka 
33. Suriname 
34. Tanzania 
35. Thailand 
36. Trinidad and Tobago 
37. U.A.E. 
38. U.K. 
39. U.S.A 
40. Yemen


July 2011

click here to enlarge

 >> Cover Story
 >> From the Editor