May 2016 \ World News \ INDIANS IN UK

British Parliament Speaker John Bercow urged the Indian diaspora in Britain to engage more with mainstream politics and get proper representation in Parliament.

By By Anasudhin Azeez

Dr Rami Ranger Mr Mihir Bose Lord Meghnad Desai
Ms Shreela Flather Ms Zerbanoo Gifford Mr T. Ramachandran
Mattur Nandakumara is a Sanskrit scholar who teached at Cambridge and Eton. He hails from the only Sanskrit speaking village of Mattur in Karnataka and holds a PhD in devotional literature from School of Oriental and African Studies at the University of London.


Zerbanoo Gifford was the first non-white woman to stand for British Parliament in 1982. She won several recognitions for her involvement in national and international humanitarian activities. Zerbanoo was elected to the Liberal Party's Federal Executive, again the first non-white to be elected onto any governing body of a British political party.